29 rue de l'Aulnaie 27120 Fontaine-Sous-Jouy   -   NORMANDY
Tel +33 2 32 36 89 05 - Mail firstname.lastname@example.org
VERSAILLES, GIVERNY, HONFLEUR, DEAUVILLE, LES ANDELYS
Come and discover the abbey of Le Bec Hellouin between Rouen and Lisieux, a major Benedictine house from the 11th century onward. It became a monastery once again in 1948.
An unhoped-for renaissance. After the French Revolution, the abbey was transformed into military stables before being restored between 1948 and 1959. A community of Olivetan Benedictine monks has brought it back to life with the help of the Caisse Nationale des Monuments Historiques et des Sites.
All year long
The Royal Abbey of Bonport of the Cistercian order is a charming place located along the Seine.
Founded by Richard the Lion Heart in 1189, she had to suffer from the Order which made collapse long before the Revolution into the National Property. Used as a stone quarry, she lost her abbey church and cloister. However, a large part of the buildings were preserved.
from 1st April au 30 September, sundays and holidays. In July and August, everyday except saturday
Close to Rouen, at the heart of a meander of the Seine at Saint-Martin de Boscherville, stands one of the most prestigious abbeys of Normandy. Nestled in the valley of the Seine, on the edge of the forest of Roumare, Saint-Georges de Boscherville offers a place to visit and walk in a rich past two thousand years.
Everyday except December 25 and January 1st
Created in 1137 by the monks of Vaux-de-Cernay, the Breuil-Benoit is attached to Clairvaux Abbey in 1147.
Impressive Gothic nave, it is mostly the only one left standing when all other abbeys, masterpieces of medieval Cistercian architecture Norman fell. Building a simple and sublime, beautifully saved from peril centuries.
The abbey house has the elegance of a Louis XIII chateau chaining the graceful brick and stone.
All year long
In a romantic park on the banks of the Andelle the Cistercian nuns founded around 1190, is one of the finest examples of Gothic architecture Anglo-Norman.
Do not miss: buildings nuns with their frames shaped ship hull, the church choir vaulted modified the original chapel in the fifteenth century or the troglodyte cellar.
April to October
Jumièges Abbey is one of the oldest and most important Benedictine monasteries of Normandy.
The abbey Notre-Dame, the main church of the abbey, is the flagship and an outstanding example of Norman Romanesque architecture.
9:30 to 18:30 from April 15 to September 15
9:30 to 13:00 and from 14:30 to 17:30 from September 16 to April 14
At the heart of the forest of Lyons, its ruins stand in a bucolic setting that invites a stroll almost mystical as these places are steeped in history.
In the current building (18th century) you can visit the museum.
The guide will accompany you in the basements of the Abbey where you can see the tools, bread oven, a monastic cell, without forgetting the fountain.
Romantic ruins, path of the Dukes of Normandy, dovecote, park : all year long from 2pm to 6pm
From May 1st from September 1st : Every day from 2pm to 6pm
Winter: Saturdays, Sundays and holidays by appointment.
The Church of St. Taurin combines roman elements of the twelfth century, gothic elements and parts of the fifteenth Renaissance. Besides the famous shrine, she has a beautiful canopy of the fifteenth century in the choir, enriched with stained glass windows of the nineteenth and contemporary Ingrand Max.
The abbey church contains the famous shrine of St. Taurin, first bishop of Evreux evangelist, designed as a miniature Gothic cathedral and perfect masterpiece of the goldsmith French thirteenth century.
Open every day from 9am to 6pm (6:30 in summer)